Old 08-15-2013, 11:54 AM   #1
Guru

Raw water impeller question

I have a Jabsco that has eaten another impeller after only 20 or so hrs of use. I fear it was an OLD impeller (it came in a bag of spares with the boat). I didn't see any cracks when bending the blades and I did lube it during install. Anyway.....I'm going to put in a Globe impeller (I've ran them in all of my other boats and been happy). My question is 8 or 10 blades on the impeller? Which will move more water at same RPMs. Naturally the 10 blade unit has a larger diameter body and shorter blades than the 6. I have looked for about an hour and typed in every combination of words I could think of to pull up this info. I can't find any information regarding blade count effect on impeller performance. Any of ya'll have 1st hand knowledge about this one?

I think all the spare impellers and belts I got with the boat are going to be relegated to emergency use only and I'll buy new for routine change outs.
twiisted71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 12:04 PM   #2
Guru

City: Whittier AK
Vessel Name: Apache II
Vessel Model: 1974 Donald Jones
Sounds to me like it is just one manufacturer vs another. As long as it moves enough water. I don't really think it matters.

I have been wrong before.

SD
Old 08-15-2013, 12:37 PM   #3
Guru

City: Beaverton, Ontario
Vessel Name: Looking Glass
Vessel Model: Carver 370 Voyager
Quote:
Originally Posted by skipperdude View Post
Sounds to me like it is just one manufacturer vs another. As long as it moves enough water. I don't really think it matters.

I have been wrong before.

SD
I agree, you haven't changed the RPM of the pump so volume should not change significantly from one blade configuration to another. Be careful though that the width of the impellers are exactly the same for proper operation.
Old 08-15-2013, 12:44 PM   #4
Guru