Old 11-09-2013, 04:27 PM   #1

City: Ourimbah, NSW
Vessel Name: Katie Lou
Vessel Model: Kingston 770
Powertrain choices

Hello all !

Well, after the recent demise of my boat, I have been looking at replacement options. Of course bigger and better has to be part of that

Although I am a trained and qualified mechanic its not my current career and I left it behind many years ago, but I still know my way around engines and have always done my own repairs on my boats.

Having said that I would live to get some opinions on which way to go for my next boat as I am a relative newbie to cruiser style boats.

Although the boat choice itself is a personal thing there are options regarding engines and drives.

Gents, what are your thoughts on the following, based on say a thirty foot cruiser of some kind

Petrol engine vs diesel
Twin engine vs single engine
Stern drive vs shaft

There are so many options I'd just love to hear the pros and cons !

Thanks !

Grantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 05:32 PM   #2
Guru

City: Concrete Washington State
Vessel Name: Willy
Vessel Model: Willard Nomad 30'
Twin diesels are best of course but usually best does cost more.

North Western Washington State USA
Nomad Willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:29 PM   #3

City: Tokyo, Japan / Tampa, Florida / Washington, Virginia
Vessel Name: Mondai Nai
Vessel Model: Nordhaven 55 - 45
Send a message via Skype™ to IntervaleII
Desiel with shaft drive. Less in the water to corrode and desiel will last longer especially with how the cooling water is used.

Sent from my iPad using Trawler
IntervaleII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:31 PM   #4
Guru

Stern drives. Mounting the gearbox underwater "protected" against water intrusion by rubber seals. Not a good idea IMO. Seen the shell on one hauled out for a/f? Much less maintenance with shaft(s).