Old 03-23-2016, 02:43 AM   #1

City: Kl
Vessel Name: Sea paradise
Vessel Model: 40+3 hiptimco marine. Ed monk
Outboard Powered Trawlers

Hi
Would a pair of 150 HP mercury sea pro 4 stroke outboards with the lowest pitch highest diameter props be able to safely power a 10 tonne semi displacement trawler (Grand Banks 40 style ) in strong currents?

Currently powered by a pair of 40 year old 120 hp ford lehmans
IanPereira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:03 AM   #2
Guru

City: Sydney
The only thing that comes to mind is WHY ????????
gaston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 04:01 AM   #3

I've been considering replacing my old tired engine s for the past 3 years and love the idea of of brand new outboards. They can be lifted up when not in use. And have minimal maintenance.
Old 03-23-2016, 04:15 AM   #4
Guru

City: I need a bigger boat!
Vessel Model: Cheetah 25' Powercat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanPereira View Post
I've been considering replacing my old tired engine s for the past 3 years and love the idea of of brand new outboards. They can be lifted up when not in use. And have minimal maintenance.
Outboards produce about 12hp/gal , diesels 20hp/gal.

A catamaran on outboards can equal the mpg of a trawler on diesels, so if you want to convert a big heavy boat to ob's you better have lots of cash for fuel.

Of course you could make an argument for some very cheap V8 gas engines on shafts. I'm no expert on these engines but you can buy them brand new for a few thousand $ and maybe swop over the marinising gear off an old scrapped one.
Old 03-23-2016, 07:07 AM   #5
Guru

City: Fort Myers, FL... Summers in the Great Lakes
Vessel Name: Slow Hand
Vessel Model: Cherubini Independence 45