Old 05-07-2015, 08:20 PM   #1

City: Fort Pierce, FL
Vessel Name: Dot Calm
Ouch!

I'm grateful I hired a diesel mechanic to check out my 1982 32 Island Gypsy after putting over 100 hours on her in 8 weeks.

I started noticing black hard ash under the block and my engine appeared to be rusting and burned near the exhaust manifold elbow. Sure enough, he tells me I need a new exhaust manifold. There goes a couple of thousand...

On the bright side, the broker who sold me the boat in January told me not to take her above 1800 rpms and that her cruising speed was 7 knots. Turns out my Ford Lehman 120 horse single engine is designed to be run at around 2600 RPMS and can cruise at 10-12 knots. I hate to spend money but sometimes the investment of an expert's time and knowledge is money well spent. I'm a great salesman, but no little about the engine room. We all have our specialty's. My goal now is to be a sponge and learn as much as I can.
Monk36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 09:49 PM   #2
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
It may be rated to put out 120 hp at 2,600 rpm but it is not designed to do that all day long.

I would not run that engine any harder than 2,200 rpm continuously and that assumes that it is propped to reach 2,600 at wot.

David
DavidM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 10:06 PM   #3

Agree

I agree with you. I was cruising at only 1800 max which apparently wasn't good for the engine either. I think I will now cruise a bit faster but would never keep her maxed out all day.
Thanks for your feedback.
Now can you please make my exhaust manifold issue go away?
Old 05-07-2015, 10:24 PM   #4
Guru

City: Sydney
Vessel Name: Sojourn
Vessel Model: Integrity 386
Why would cruising at 1800 rpm do a Lehman 120 harm? Can`t see it myself. I`m getting no harm from running (admittedly twins) at around 1500rpm cruise.