Newbie Questions: Hull / Planing Speeds, etc...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rclarke246

Vessel Name
Lady Di
Vessel Make
2012 Beneteau Swift Trawler 44
Hello All,

Newbie here. I'm confused about exactly what is meant by "hull speed", "planing speed", "cruising speed", etc...

I'm "all about efficiency", unless faced with extenuating circumstances.

I know, I can hear some of you now, "then WHY on earth did you ever buy that boat"??! Nonetheless, we did, we love her and have ZERO regrets. Remember, "A man convinced against his will is of that opinion still". I warned you that I was a "newbie"!

Here is some background for you:

Hull: Semi-displacement
LWL: 37' 6"
Beam waterline: 12' 8"
Displacement (full): 30,000 lbs.
Power: 2 Volvo Penta D4 turbos, 300 hp ea.

Here are a few of the actual stats I recorded last summer:
3,500 rpm's, 24 kn., 30 gph (WOT)
2,800 rpm's, 15 kn., 18 gph
2,000 rpm's, 11 kn., 8 gph

Has trim tabs, which have no effect under 2,000 rpm. When hull is planing(?) the "bow down" attitude results in an increase of about 1 kn.

As usual, we're interested in any thoughts or recommendations you may have.
Thank you!

Trim tabs are not only to increase the hull speed while planing. Here is a short video about trim tab functions:

How You Trim The Boat - YouTube

The hull speed is a theoretical mathematical formula defining displacement hull/mode speed for a particular length of boat's waterline: Hull speed - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The planning speed is the speed at which particular planing hull gets on plane and/or minimum speed it stays on plane. It is somehow murky in case of semi displacement (or semi planning) hulls ... IMO.

The cruising speed is more of a subjective value one prefers based on one's priorities ... speed/time to get there vs fuel efficiency.

Last edited: