Need help with over heating.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

POPPA-T

Vessel Name
POPPA-T
Vessel Make
Albin 40 Trawler
I have a 1982 40 foot Albin Trawler. Powered by a single Volvo TAMD40A. Engine starts and runs great from idle to 2700 rpm, temp is 180. At 2800 rpm temp goes to 185 anything above 2800 rpm temp keeps rising. I have let it get as hot as 195 before slowing to 2600 rpm. Engine doesn't make black smoke at any speed. I have taken apart and cleaned heat exchanger, changed impeller, I have cleaned the fresh water side of the cooling system by running an approved cleaner through the engine for a hour. Can anyone tell me if I might be missing to do something??? Prop size is a 24X18 three blade.

What is the operating temp spec?

My Cat 3208s were designed to run 195...some newer Cats run over 200 I am pretty sure.

I'm not an expert by any means, but 195 at 2800 rpm would not concern me if when slowing down, the temp drops quickly.

Howard

Have you checked the heat exchanger(s). Open them up and see if any of them is partially blocked.

When I first bought our Nova sundeck with twin VOLVO TMD40s, we had the same problem. I finally removed the tube that runs from the salt water pump to the oil cooler and found it impacted with salt, as the PO never used the boat. That was 15 years ago and have not had that problem since as the boat does not "sit."

I used to have a pair of TMD40s. I don't know if the TAMD40 has the same heat exchanger, (HE) but assuming so, this is what I found: