Old 10-11-2015, 11:13 AM   #1

City: Anacortes
Mechanic Charges for failed work

I recently had a cylinder go bad on my diesel. Mechanic troubleshoots it and saws his shop can do the rebuild. He has the boat taken to a yard, hauled and removes the engine. He is not able to identify the root cause but rebuilds the damage cylinder, has injectors checked, etc. Reassembles engine and during the run up the engine fails.

He is now asking for quite a bit of money to continue to work on it. I believe in letting the experts do what they do best so not have pushed them on time or doing it cheap. I am also a small business owner and understand he has quite a bit of money in the repair but I don't have a running engine. So what should I pay him for at this point in the project??

Thanks
RB
RBunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 11:23 AM   #2
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
I think that YOU as the owner need to find the root cause of the failure. You do this by asking for the advice of pros. Post on boatdiesel where the pros hang out.

Did he really check the injectors? Maybe a hosed injector took the first cylinder out and will continue to take repaired cylinders out until fixed.

David
DavidM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 11:27 AM   #3
Guru

City: Gulf Shores, Ala.
Vessel Name: Ulysses
Vessel Model: Romsdal 1963
Was the second failure in the same cylinder?
ulysses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 11:45 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

City: SEWARD ALASKA
Vessel Name: DOS PECES
Vessel Model: BAYLINER 4788
This is really a tough one.

If the original cylinder failed in my opinion the shop bears the burden of making it right, so any labor after the original fix he should eat.

If any other part of the engine failed not related to his work then it's your engine, your money.

My problem with this whole thing is why go through all the work to pull an engine and not completely overhaul it, including the accessories???