Fuel Tank Check

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Apprentice

I am looking to purchase a 1981 36ft trawler that has sat completely idle for over 5 years. She requires engine work but I am interested in how I can check the fuel tanks for internal and external corrosion as renewing them would be a major (deal breaker) job.

She has twin 600 litre yanks that seem to be built in under the side decks. I believe the decks to be sound. The tanks are steel but very much hidden behind sound deadening material.

I am a newbie here so thanks in advance for your collective wisdom.

IF the filler neck is pretty straight, jam a stick clear down to the bottom of the tank, withdraw and inspect.
Does it have vacuum guage?
Easy to install one inline, even temporary.
Pull a primary fuel filter, if its a spin-on, cut it open and inspect.
I wouldn't think fuel tanks would be a deal breaker, the boat is old and needs engine work anyway, so your offer should be quite low.

If it is a Taiwanese Tub and has teak decks, I would assume it needs new fuel tanks and deck repair. More importantly, you really should have the boat surveyed.

I would insist that the tanks be emptied, if they are not already, and use a scope to go insidethrough the filler neck to inspect them. Unfortunately the inside may look fine but the outside could have major corrosion. As noted in prior posts, if the decks are leaking, you may have to consider that the tanks will need to be replaced. A project boat may look like a good opportunity to get into boating but the dollars you end up spending may be much more than you had anticipated. As me how I know!:banghead:

Been there, almost done with that.