The Fuel System Upgrade Project: Episode II

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tom.B

Moderator Emeritus
Vessel Name
Skinny Dippin'
Vessel Make
Navigator 4200 Classic
Fuel Wars: Episode II A New Hope

Well, well, well... Thanks to the engineering styling's of a regular member here (I'll let him come out of the closet if he wants to), I have been re-inspired to take the project in a new direction. So, with that, I guess a new thread would be in order to give new eyes to the goings-on.

Picture 1 below was sent to me via email.

I studied it long and hard. I almost dismissed it, but gave it a second look today and decided to COMBINE the two ideas. My biggest problem was ego. I was proud of what I had done (with all your help) and didn't want to throw out all the work I had done. All the hours spent at the Grainger website would have seemed wasted. I also feel like Spring is coming and I don't want to still have the system in bits when it happens. BUT... when I dragged it all into the bilge today, I realized it could be better. So, I took it out, took it COMPLETELY apart, and set to work.

A few things became clear to me:
a) There is just too much rubber in this rig.
b) There is just too much brass in this rig.
c) There were too many ways to get the setup wrong during use. (ie: pressured fuel to the injector pump)
d) It's not a bad idea to still be able to supply fuel to the genset while polishing.
e) I could flip the 3rd filter in its mount for a tighter install.
f) I decided to scrap the bypass of the polish filter. I figured I would use fuel xfer so little, filtering it as I did it would never be a bad idea.

Basically, in Rick's picture below, he is using three-way ball valves with a "T" port for tank selection on the input and output. Good idea for sure, but two things stopped me from using them. First, those vavles are about $50 each
smile.gif