Old 04-28-2008, 08:34 AM   #1

Borg Warner Velvet Drive Transmissions

Does any one have any history of these, either good or bad.

I have a customer thats been told to avoid them. I have no personal knowledge of anything that suggests that they are trouble.

MT

marinetrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 09:10 AM   #2

RE: Borg Warner Velvet Drive Transmissions

Well the main issue with them is that the transmission that is reversed on a twin engine boat has been known to self destruct. One of the nuts that hold the reversing gear on is not secured by a locking pin or lock nut and it can back off. I dont know the exact part, but this will give you a general idea. The next problem is finding parts or someone to work on them. Mine are 25 years old and have not given me any trouble, knock on wood!!

troy994719 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 11:16 AM   #3
Guru

City: Everett, WA
Vessel Model: Ocean Alexander 38'

I have B/W Velvet Drive CR2 transmissions. Last year we pulled the Starboard and had it re-built for the exact reason that Troy pointed out. Our local Velvet Drive dealer recommended that this be done and at 2,000 hours, he felt that we were living on borrowed time. I pulled and reinstalled myself, so the shop costs were only around $1,500 or so. Also replaced the drive plate while I was at it. I plan on doing the Port next winter.
Max Simmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 11:21 AM   #4
Scraping Paint

City: -