Old 04-22-2019, 12:56 AM   #1

City: Montana, Alaska, Gulf coast
Size questions

Hello,
I am new to this sight and new to the idea of buying and spending time on a trawler. I am a 100T master captain and have spent the past 20 years working on boats. I currently run a 32’ pilot house with a 17’ flats skiff on the top that we use to access flats off of the gulf coast.

I am considering a 26’ Nordic Tug as a friend of mine has one for sale. My two major concerns are:
1. Will this boat handle a 14’, 500lbs flats skiff on top of it and a davit to take it on and off?
2. Can this boat handle a crossing such as one from Florida to the Bahamas and throughout the Caribbean? I understand that this is weather dependent but I mean in general.

I like the 26 because it is small. My wife and I spend a lot of time on smaller boats together and feel that this would be perfect for us for about a week at a time.

Thanks for any input.
grzybjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 01:13 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Black Dog
Vessel Model: Formula 41PC
Welcome aboard. Not familiar with that boat but someone will chime in.
Comodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 02:41 AM   #3
Guru

City: Seattle, WA
Vessel Name: Pau Hana
Vessel Model: 1989 PT52 Overseas Yachtfisher
I can’t figure out how you’re planning to carry a 14’ vessel atop a 28’ LOA boat. Where will the davit be, and how will the smaller boat deploy/retrieve?

1989 52' PT Overseas yachtfisher
Pau Hana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 06:35 AM   #4
Guru

City: Fort Myers, FL... Summers in the Great Lakes
Vessel Name: Slow Hand
Vessel Model: Cherubini Independence 45
Might make more sense to tow the flats boat. In weather you plan to cross to the Bahamas in, towing the flats boat shouldn't be an issue. 26' will require a lot of patience, waiting for weather windows.

Ted
"Slow Hand" by The Pointer Sisters
O C Diver is online now   Reply With Quote