1973 Gulfstar 43 as a first boat

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lou_tribal

Guru
Vessel Name
Bleuvet
Vessel Make
Custom Built
Hello,
I am curently in quest for my first boat and trying to find a trawler that fit my budget and makes me thrill.
I already post about a minship 34 few days ago (separate thread), and I found today a Gulfstar 43 from 1973. It looks really nice but I am far from an expert. Mechanics ar erecently rebuilt and boat looks in good shape.
Any advice would be welcome about this boat, what to check, main pros and main cons, good or bad etc.
Thank you very much.

Regards,

What motors are installed?

I think you will do great with a Gulfstar. I just bought a 1975 Gulfstar 36 MK II with twin Perkins 4-154s as a project boat. Love the layout and I've always had a thing for the old Gulfstars. Some of the good stuff includes: solid glass hull, fiberglass fuel tank, no leaky teaky decks, classic lines, awesome galley down, full ballasted keel, and a "real trawler" full displacement hull.

Be prepared to roll significantly as the hull is round with no chines. The old Gulfstars effectively have sailboat hulls, based on the 36' and 43' motorsailor.

Keep an eye out for the usual suspects found on older boats: 1.) soft deck spots 2.) hull blisters 3.) leaking hatches / ports. Mine has a soft spot on the aft deck around the Bomar hatch and 4 of the 8 portlights leak. Also, there is a leak under the sliding door track that has rotted a small section of the cabin sole. Not a big deal, but the soft deck can be expensive if you don't DIY.