Somewhat New Forum Member

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rich K

Vessel Name
Daisy Mae
Vessel Make
Bayliner 3288
I am not yet a Trawler owner, but am actively searching for my next boat. I have many years of experience with smaller craft, and have owned 4 boats including a 26’ Cruiser, and have several years’ experience operating and maintaining a 33’ Chris-Craft, which my family owned when I was younger and in my 30s.

The last ten years I have been owned an light aircraft, but now that I am getting closer to retirement, I have been gravitating back to what I enjoyed the most, and know that my wife would enjoy being back on the water here in the Pacific Northwest. I will most likely give up the airplane when we finally get the boat we want, as two expensive hobbies are a bit too much in retirement.

I have always loved Trawlers, and as I am not planning to be in a “hurry” any more. When we still had kids at home we often needed to return quickly after a short vacation to get back to work and school, therefore we felt we needed a “quicker” boat. We would like to spend longer periods onboard, and eventually travel a lot further up the Inside Passage than we did in the past, years ago.

I am actively searching for something 34’ to maybe 42’, which my wife and I can handle alone.

Years ago, my kids loved the trips to the San Juan Islands, and into Canada on our 26’ Cruiser, but it was a mixed bag for me, as it seemed that no matter where we went I didn’t see too much as I spent an awful long time down in the “engine room.” Therefore I plan to do my due diligence and find something a bit more reliable. I’m not afraid of working on whatever I do find, and as work shouldn’t be getting in the way after retirement, and I kind of look forward to keeping it shipshape.