RV's to Boats

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CMA1992

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Pier Runner 6
Vessel Make
27 ft Boston Whaler Conquest
Well,
After about 10 years worth of cruising the asphalt, we are thinking of moving on to the water. I am an Ex-Marine engineer from Cal Maritime and have loved the ocean since the day my dad moved to Seattle in 1980 and have decided to "look into" buying a boat to replace the RV, and keep it in SF if at all possible? I have talked to a lot of people in the industry about all the costs involved and I found this forum while googling the differences between the "triple nickel" and the fords & figured this would be a great place to join and learn. Although I am comfortable with the ocean, the private "yacht" world is new to me!
So, a few parameters we are working with and trying to figure out.
1. Costs of owning a boat (not including the boat itself). Mooring -$625 ish insurance - $2000/yr What am I missing? Hall outs, maint, ect.
We are looking at 45-50ft in size About $175k budget
Thanks for the help in advance :)

We made the transition several years back. I find on the yacht I do most of the maintenance myself. On the RV I had most done. That can help on the maintenance cost allot. Use allot more fuel per mile but then you dont usually go as far. I think your insurance cost is way low. I expect double of what you were thinking. Haul outs and bottom job seems to be about 3K a year or maybe 2 years dependent on how bottoms last in your area.

Doing all your own work on the boat will be a big money-saver. Like myself, a retired millwright, you cannot afford to pay a mechanic as good as you are. By the way, my son graduated from CMA in 1995 and is a chief engineer.