Old 03-17-2016, 02:44 PM   #1

City: SF Bay Area
SF Bay Area powerboating lesson recommendations?

Hi all,

I am a complete beginner interested in taking powerboating lessons in the SF Bay Area. I eventually want to be able to charter or own a boat and go on extended cruising trips with my family.

Can anyone recommend a good school in the SF Bay Area? I am currently looking at Club Nautique, and they look great, but I want to know if there is anyone else I should research.

Thank you!

-nightlyrats
nightlyrats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 06:17 PM   #2
Guru

City: North Carolina for now
I went through the Club Nautique courses 15 years ago and they were outstanding. You had to take them to qualify for various levels of boat and allowed cruising grounds. We had done a bunch of on and off boating over our lifetimes, mostly rental but did own a 32' Tolly for awhile, been through a few CGAux and Power Squadron classes, and I was surprised at how much I learned that was invaluable. A couple of the courses including night time navigation, overnight cruises and anchoring.

Back then they had a complete flotilla of all types of Mainship from 30' singles all the way to the 430 twin, with boats in Alameda, Sausalito, Coyote Point, and one down in Oxnard. I think they have a much smaller power fleet fleet now, and only in Alameda. But if the classes, which were 80%+ on-the-water, and instructors are anywhere near as good as they were back then, very highly recommended.

"There's the Right Way, the Wrong Way, and what some guy says he's gotten away with"
caltexflanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 06:50 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by caltexflanc View Post