Old 03-20-2019, 12:17 PM   #1

City: brentwood
Newby Looking for Guidance

Hi guys; I'm new to this forum. I'm 2 years from turning 60, and seeking guidance on my early retirement plan. Except for pulling kids behind 22' ski boats the past 15 years, I have no boating experience. I've been "hanging around the (trawler) rim" for many years, reading most Passagemakers and occasional on-line research. My hope in 2 years is to (1) sell our house and buy a 15-20 year old 60'-65' trawler at $400k-$500k, (2) pay a seasoned captain to train me for 3-4 months, then (3) spend a year cruising the Caribbean, then 6 months traveling thru the Panama Canal to the US west coast, then 6 months cruising up to Alaska (always staying close to shore). My preference is a fuel efficient 3-cabin steel trawler (a la Cape Horn or Real Ships), but I'll likely consider fiberglass/aluminum rather than sacrifice fuel burn. For a newby, is this scenario even possible/reasonable? If so, what on-line courses should I focus on for the next 2 years to prepare? Thanks for the advice.
ohno3kids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 01:19 PM   #2
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
ohno:

Your plan is a bit ambitious. You could do what you propose but there is a high likelihood of getting the wrong boat for you, selling it while wasting a lot of money and then finally buying the boat that fits your needs which will probably have changed.

I would first start with a modest size trawler like an older Grand Banks 36 or a newer Mainship 34/350/390. You could buy one of these for about $150K. Then use it during the last few years of your work life to develop your boating skills and zero in on what your really want when you retire.

And FWIW a 15-20 YO steel, 60-65' trawler will probably be hard to find. There is ony one that meets those criteria currently on Yachtworld in the US and it is listed for $650K: https://www.yachtworld.com/boats/199...-ch63-3210994/

David