New Member - Newby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jaybonner

Hello All,

My wife and I are looking at trawlers to use primarily for weekends on west coast of Florida. I am doing due diligence research on crafts under 70k. I am sure that if we take the plunge, I will be better company to you all. Advice is welcome and I take criticism well (still married!). Thanks for the invite and acceptance.

Jay

Welcome aboard! As a fellow newbie, I recommend you spend tons of time going through the various threads and try to absorb the collective wisdom. There are a bunch here that have been doing this for a long time and they freely share the hard lessons of the past.

Welcome aboard. Lots of great info here.

Hello All,

My wife and I are looking at trawlers to use primarily for weekends on west coast of Florida. I am doing due diligence research on crafts under 70k. I am sure that if we take the plunge, I will be better company to you all. Advice is welcome and I take criticism well (still married!). Thanks for the invite and acceptance.

Jay

Jay,

Lots of choices.... maybe.
Being in Maitland, you've got at least a 2 hour hike just to get to the west coast of FL before you start your boat, as well as a 2 hour return.

In a trawler, going at trawler speeds, you may not be able to cover a lot of distance over a weekend. At 7 knots a 4 hour run will only give you 25 miles or so, maybe less with all the no wake zone here.