New and Eager

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

slowandsteady

Vessel Make
Mainship 34 III
Hello everyone,
I'm new to the forum but I have been reading and browsing for a few months. I've been out of boating for 20+ years but I plan on jumping in again. All that "life" stuff got in the way (i.e. mortgage, business, college tuition, family health issues, etc.)
I have been educating myself for the last 8-9 months and after the youngest graduates from business school in December I plan on getting on the water again. We look forward to it.
I hope my questions aren't TOO stupid and maybe I can be a member of this forum that can contribute something soon.
Thanks!

Welcome aboard! Your avatar says it all. Best of luck on your journey!

Thanks Bilgewater
The Lady J is a nice looking Gulfstar. We are looking at getting into about the same size trawler. Of course I started looking at smaller boats but after much research I think the 36 foot size is just right.

Welcome aboard. There are many choices to consider when looking at trawlers:

Fast trawler with a big engine or lower hp engine that goes slow
Full displacement (not many of those) or semi displacement
Fly bridge or not
Galley up or down
Aft cabin or Euro/sedan style
Single or twins

All of these have been debated on this forum and there isn't a right or wrong answer. It all depends on how you use the boat and what your personal preferences are.

Enjoy the search.

David

Welcome. Hope to hear more from you.

John

Here I go....