Old 06-26-2014, 04:23 PM   #1
Guru

City: Brookline, NH
Vessel Name: Shalloway
Vessel Model: Defever 44, twin Perkins
Hello from southern NH

My name is ken. My wife Peigi and I are looking to move up to a trawler for coastal cruising and to be our house on the water. Having grown up in a boating family on Cape Cod i have extensive boating experience up to 27' and i even built my current boat (a 25' Tolman pilothouse). In addition we're both members of the USCG Aux and have various seamanship, navigation and SAR training both on and off the water. We currently boat out of the Merrimack river in Massachusetts. We'll probably stay there for the foreseeable future, but once we retire (6-9 yrs) who knows?

When we started looking we were thinking of a GB classic 36 and have looked at several, but fell in love with the design, size and layout of the Albin 43 Trawler which is now our focus.

I've been lurking here a little while cramming every bit of info available about trawlers and trawler systems (i'm an engineer) ahead of our trawler purchase.

Ken
kchace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 04:37 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

City: St. Marks, Florida
Vessel Name: Morgan
Vessel Model: Gulfstar 36
Welcome aboard, Ken. Sounds as if you have a solid boating background, and can really contribute to our Forum. Even if you are an engineer. :-) (Just kidding -- I still have a real live slide rule that I used in my early engineering classes a long, long time ago).
Old 06-26-2014, 05:29 PM   #3
Guru

City: Beaverton, Ontario
Vessel Name: Looking Glass
Vessel Model: Carver 370 Voyager
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwnall View Post
I still have a real live slide rule that I used in my early engineering classes a long, long time ago).
Welcome Ken, I also have my slide rule still in my desk, but haven't even thought of actually using it for the last 30 years. Enjoy the forum.
Old 06-26-2014, 08:32 PM   #4
Veteran Member

City: Hilton Head, SC
Vessel Name: Irie Daze