Old 07-04-2016, 08:14 AM   #1
Guru

City: Sandusky Bay
Vessel Name: Escape
Vessel Model: Mariner 37
Handling gray and black water on Loop

Okay, total noob question here. I'm very familiar with land-based RV sewage systems. Two separate tanks for gray and black water that dump by gravity at usually free dump stations. I believe I have read that gray water can go directly overboard along most of the Loop. Really? So all those boats moored at Put In Bay and Charlevoix are dumping dishwater and shower water straight to the lake? That would certainly simplify the plumbing issues.

And I get that gravity won't work when you have to drain "up" to the sewer connection. Seems like macerater pumps would be a regular maintenance issue. How often should one expect to rebuild, clean out or replace one's macerater pump?
HeadedToTexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 08:20 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadedToTexas View Post

And I get that gravity won't work when you have to drain "up" to the sewer connection. Seems like macerater pumps would be a regular maintenance issue. How often should one expect to rebuild, clean out or replace one's macerater pump?
Yes, grey water goes overboard. The dock sewer connection for black water sucks. I carry my own screw-in adapter for the access port on the boat as a few places don't have the correct one. Make sure your vent on the tank is clear. Macerater is not needed on the Great Lakes or rivers.
go-planing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 08:32 AM   #3
Guru

Ah-hah, so the sewage "dump station" has its own vacuum pump that sucks the black water out? Makes sense. Is that a fee service?
Old 07-04-2016, 08:42 AM   #4

Yes, vacuum pumps. $5 on Lake Michigan. Sometimes waived if you buy a measureable amount of fuel...or if they're understaffed and let you do it yourself.
go-planing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 10:03 AM   #5
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct