Old 01-29-2017, 09:57 AM   #1

City: Gainsville
Greeting from Virginia

Hello all,

As retirement approaches, I am exploring the purchase or building of a trawler yacht to travel the Caribbean and the Med/European waters. I'm new to boating, having only lake time in a ski boat, not counting a few cruises on Norwegian Cruise Lines.

When I say "building", I mean me building, in either steel or wood. I like George Buehler's designs, and will probably choose one of his in the 50' range. I love the feel/smell/working with wood but am concerned about resale value when I go to sell. That leads me to lean towards building in steel which, while I've seen beautiful metal artisans on YouTube and such, doesn't evoke the same eviseral feeling in me that a wooden boat does.

So, onward and upward, as they say. In the meantime, I'll be scouring the pages of this forum to glean the experiences that have gone ahead.
ATCer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 10:44 AM   #2
Guru

City: New England and Canada to Florida
Vessel Name: Tadhana
Vessel Model: Helmsman 38 Pilothouse
Building a boat is a significant undertaking. To build from scratch with no prior experience is likely to consume several years of your life when you could be out cruising on a purchased trawler. I am a boat builder and we bought a new boat for our retirement cruising. I sure am glad that we did.
tadhana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 10:54 AM   #3

thanks, Tadhana...you're right, is would be a big undertaking..a decision I haven't settled on..but I look at it as another activity to experience, not solely a mechanism to enable a cruising lifestyle.
Old 01-29-2017, 10:57 AM   #4
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,