Davit identification

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wingnut

Hello all, I'm new to the trawler scene and really enjoy reading this forum!! I have a trawler with a davit with no tags or id. I need some help determining its weight capacity. Any help is greatly appreciated! IMG_1399.jpg

IMG_1400.jpg

That is what is called a pipe davit. Davits can be made by any aluminum or stainless steel tubing fabrication shop, so there might be hundreds of suppliers.

One large supplier of these is Nick Jackson, see Pipe Davits. But his current ones at least have a small truss that strengthens the davit but your pics don't have that. Also your pics show reducing sections as you near the end.

Why do you need to know? To get a rough idea of the lift rating, compare the diameter of your outer pipe with the diameter of Jackson's davit without the truss. The physics of the loads on that outer section should be approximately the same so they need to be the same diameter for similar weight capacity.

For example, Jackson's pipe looks to be 2-7/8" OD for 300 or 500 lb davits. Compare that with yours.

If you want to buy a winch, then Nick Jackson probably could help, no matter who built it.

David

You will also need the wall thickness of the pipe to compare apples to apples. When I upgraded mine from an 8’ boom to a 10’ the stanchion increased in OD as well as decreasing in ID. In other words it got a lot thicker.

That lifting davit looks to be home made. Not that it's a bad thing but there is no way to determine its capacity. Judging by the fact that there is no bearing for rotation I'm thinking probably less than 500 lbs.