Old 03-02-2015, 07:55 AM   #1

City: Seabrook
Another Newbie

Hello All,

I am a newbie in search of the right Trawler - scouring the used boat world looking for a liveaboard that will work for us...

We live in the Houston Texas area and just sold our beloved Morgan 60 Schooner. We are moving into the Trawler world with no real firsthand knowledge of powerboating - we have sailed for over 40 years.

The Mission:
1> Live aboard in the Houston area for 2 years while weddings and grandchild is born.
2> Then we will spend split time between Houston and the Keys/Bahamas/East Coast/Cuba(?) based on the seasons.
3> We are selling houses in Houston and Pagosa Springs, CO - so this will be our only home

We tend to be drawn towards boats like the Cheoy Lee 55 and the Hatteras LRC's. We are not made of money so fuel consumption is important - but livability probably is more important...

Single screw or twin is fine with me. Enclosed sundeck and flybridge is important in the Houston area (bugs).

My old boat - Kewl Breeze - was a 1982 - so working on old boats is nothing new for me. Handling a big boat is nothing new to me - my schooner was 70 feet over all - she was a beauty!!!

We are excited about this new move. It is scary for me since I have left the comfort of the sailboat world - I know sailboats but Trawlers are a big unknown to me - so any help you guys can provide is truly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for all the input!!

Dennis
aka - Kewlbreeze
Kewlbreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 08:20 AM   #2
Guru

City: Niceville, FL
Vessel Name: At Last
Vessel Model: 1990 Jefferson 52 Marquessa
Welcome Dennis,
Many of us here have made the move from the sailboat to trawler. Given your sailboat you will be more at ease with the move than many of us were. You probably had most all of the systems that we have. So that will not be a change and if anything working on them will be easier.
Some questions that might help all of us give you some suggestions: