To the or not to the . . .

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
A trivia question. My sister, in speaking of the possibility of their bringing their trawler from Wilmington to Charleston in April, is saying "we will try and bring the XXX down in April." I maintain that it should properly be phrased as "we will bring XXX down in April." Which of us is correct? And why?

John
Both can be correct, except in the first "and" should be "to", the "try" is "to bring" the boat, not something separate and additional.
The first denotes an attempt is being made with uncertainty of success, (though whether that was intended is anyone`s guess). The second indicates certainty the "bringing down" will happen, with no qualification.
It is too long since I studied English sentence construction, and parsing,to explain reasoning further.
Later we can progress to various ways of pronouncing the word "pedant".

Rwidman wrote:

"That's the worst boat name I've ever heard of.".
Well, I suppose that I could make up something about what triple-X might mean, but in this case it merely means that I did not use the actual name of the boat.

John

Lol. There are some boats we know that we always refer to as "the" whatever and some we don't. Can't tell you why. For instance, seabiscuit versus "the" Ada Helen. I guess we use the "the" on Ada Helen because otherwise it sounds like you're talking about a lady and not a boat??? Is xxx named after a person?

BruceK wrote:

"Both can be correct, except in the first "and" should be "to", the "try" is "to bring" the boat, not something separate and additional."

You need to understand that in the U.S. "Southern English" does not necessarily follow the rules. For better or worse (mostly worse) it is different. Blame it all on the Scotch. (Not the drink -- the racial group, who came over here early on and established themselves in the southeast).