Old 07-31-2016, 10:16 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Victoria
Help - is my anchor chain 'big' enough?

Hi All,

I am new to owning a trawler, having just purchased a 1982 42' KadeyKrogen. She is a big boat, that does take a lot of windage with a very high bow and lots of area to get blown around. Upon purchasing I noticed that the chain was pretty rusty - up to about 110' (looks very solid after that and it is 5/16" 3B chain). I assume rust up to that point is due to it being pretty old and likely of the 320', this is the part that got the most use. I was trying to decide whether to swap the chain end of end, putting the rusty end where it is unlikely to come out of the chain locker - or was considering getting a chain connector and just cutting off the 110' of rusty chain and replacing. While taking the chain out to get a better look - lots of folks offered opinions. One person said that for a boat that size I needed minimum 3/4"chain, and that 3B was not good enough grade - also that I needed a minimum of 300'.

Thoughts? Opinions? I was always under the thought that 3:1 scope on chain was sufficient and 5:1 in a blow ... this person said that for a boat this size 5:1 is minimum and 7:1 in a blow ... any thoughts on that??

Appreciate opinions

AlaskaDreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 11:23 PM   #2
Guru

City: Gig Harbor
Vessel Name: Kinship
Vessel Model: North Pacific 43
I have a similar sized boat and it has 5/16 chain. I think it is sufficient, but who knows?

I have 300' of chain which would give me 7 to 1 scope in 40' and 5 to 1 in 60'. I think it is sufficient, but wouldn't want less given where I boat. I am not used to all chain rode so I like 5 to 1 scope. That is overkill for most situation I think.

Congrats on the KK. Nice boats.

Dave
SPOT page
dhays is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 12:17 AM   #3

City: Bellevue, WA
Vessel Name: Vamos a Ver
Vessel Model: DeFever 46