Old 12-01-2013, 07:08 PM   #1
Guru

City: South FL
Vessel Name: Oliver
Vessel Model: Nordhavn 47 Hull# 12
Bow Eye?

So my next question on the pursuit of good ground tackle, our Nordy has a bow eye. Should I get a rope spliced to it and run it up the second roller on our pulpit and use it
For anchoring out bye connecting the end of it to the rode via soft shackle or should it be used for only getting towed? don't crucify me I'm still fairly new to all anchoring and anchor setups.

Nordhavn 47 Hull #12
N4712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 07:14 PM   #2
Guru

City: Full Time Cruising East Coast
Vessel Name: Meridian
Vessel Model: Krogen-42
Thats the way to do it. Reduces the amount of rode needed for scope.

KK-42097
meridian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 07:20 PM   #3
Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by meridian View Post
Thats the way to do it. Reduces the amount of rode needed for scope.
Oh, ok thanks.
Nordhavn 47 Hull #12
Old 12-01-2013, 07:52 PM   #4
Guru

City: Gloucester, MA
Another way it's commonly used is to run a line down through the eye, then back up to the pulpit so both ends of the line are up there. Then attach one end to your anchor chain and let the chain out until the joint is below the water line. Now use the other end to adjust the length to suit the situation. That way the snubber line attaches to the chain only a few feet below the eye instead of 10-15 below.
twistedtree is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 07:57 PM   #5
Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by twistedtree View Post
Another way it's commonly used is to run a line down through the eye, then back up to the pulpit so both ends of the line are up there. Then attach one end to your anchor chain and let the chain out until the joint is below the water line. Now use the other end to adjust the length to suit the situation. That way the snubber line attaches to the chain only a few feet below the eye instead of 10-15 below.