Old 02-11-2017, 02:00 PM   #1

City: North West Basin
Vessel Name: Moderation
Vessel Model: Sea Lord 35
Solar panels and Radar

We purchased a solar system at the boat show this year with the intention of placing them on the top of our fly-bridge enclosure. These are the light weight flexible kind that are increasingly showing up on bimini tops these days.

My wife recently raised the question of radar interference from solar panels installed in front of and slightly below the radar antenna. I've got 30 years experience in using radar but I've never had an array with highly reflective solar panels in front of them.

My own thoughts are any interference would be negligible considering the beams narrow splay that close to the boat and the panels being on the same plane.

Thoughts? Experience?

ksceviour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 02:10 PM   #2
Guru

City: AICW
Vessel Name: Freedom
Vessel Model: Albin 40
Look up the beam width of your radar, and make a small to scale drawing and see if it is within that beam angle.

I am not sure but suspect unless you have a broadband radar, the panels would be in the main bang radius and wouldn't interfere.

But then again, the panels would be blocking targets...expand the drawing and see just how far out.

psneeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 02:17 PM   #3
TF Site Team

City: California Delta and SF Bay
Vessel Name: FlyWright
Vessel Model: Marshall Californian 34 LRC
I'd be more concerned about shadowing on the panels reducing their efficiency than the attenuation of radar signal from the panels. If the frame supporting your FB canvas doesn't interfere, I wouldn't think the panels on top of the frame would have an effect.

Be aware of the need for solar panel cooling air.

@DeltaBridges - 25 Delta Bridges in 25 Days
FlyWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 02:51 PM   #4