Lithium batteries

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BruceK

Moderator Emeritus
Vessel Name
Sojourn
Vessel Make
Integrity 386
Has anyone been using them long enough to get an idea of likely lifespan? Or have other sources of information? I`m checking a 2010 boat fitted with them. Current owner had the boat 3yrs, he didn`t fit them, he suspects they are original. Brand on boxes in pics is "Enerdrive". They won`t be cheap to replace.

I would imagine life expectancy has more to do with how they were used, abused, and stored. I have no 1st hand experience with them in boats, but a fair amount in underwater propulsion vehicles. Life expectancy is hugely based on how they were used. Some like to be stored full where as others want to be partially discharged. If I was serious about the boat, I would try to get owner's manual for the batteries and contact the manufacturer if still in business. I would also budget to replace them just in case.

Ted

I have had a little experience with them, upgrading from flooded batteries to Lithium in golf carts and utility vehicles. Lithium's can last orders of magnitude longer than typical flooded or AGM batteries, but are very sensitive to individual cell charging/discharging.(actually cell voltage limitations - low and high) Cell to cell balance is critical. Charging systems can be complex and expensive. And like most batteries, if charging gets out of control -the end can come quickly.

The biggest advantage is energy density per pound of battery - can be ten times a flooded type.

Go to the Battery University web site. Pretty good write up there on all battery types. Unless weight and or power density is an issue I would not consider them - sailboat with no gen set -solar power only maybe!!

Definitely check out the mfg and operating history.

Unfortunately one corroded connector on the charging system can be very damaging.