Old 01-30-2011, 11:47 PM   #1
Master and Commander

City: Vallejo CA
Vessel Name: Carquinez Coot
Vessel Model: 2011 Seahorse Marine Coot hull #6
Horn fetish?

My background is 24- 28-foot auxiliary sailboats, where electronics were limited to powering navigational lights.* ...

Thus, signals were made with a horn using*lung power or a self-contained, compressed-air cylinder.

Now, with*my Coot in*the future, powered by diesel engine generating "mucho" electrical power (120 vac, 24 vdc), the "horizon" seems almost limitless.

So, forgive me if I went crazy, spending thousands of dollars to replace the standard electrical horn with the*D-1 Kahlenberg air horns on my Coot.* I asked my GF about the sound.* She said they sounded like the Vallejo ferries.* No, I responded, although I like the sound of the D-2 horns better, they sound too much like the ferries, so got the higher-pitched D-1s.* She agreed the D-2 better matched* the ferries.

http://www.kahlenberg.com/yacht.html

markpierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 06:42 AM   #2
Guru

City: Toms River
Vessel Name: D U E T T E
Vessel Model: 1996 36' Island Gypsy
RE: Horn fetish?

Mark,* The K is my dream horn.* My electric tinker toy is shot and I am back to the old sailboat horn you described.** Hopefully I will come up with an air horn more in keeping with a modest vessel.

I got horn envy- for sure!** JohnP

JohnP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:02 AM   #3
Guru

City: Holladay, UT
Vessel Name: Dream Catcher
Vessel Model: Nordic Tug 37-065

Here's an air horn that's really loud and deep, at a reasonable price:* FIAMM Fultone II.* Probably not like a K, but a fine and affordable horn.

Found my second one new in box on eBay for $130, including compressor, pushbutton switch, and relay.* Had to replace a 10-year old one that went TU because it was mounted horizontally rather than at a down angle, and ingested too much salt water.
RCook is offline   Reply With Quote