Old 08-30-2013, 08:10 AM   #1

City: Danversport, MA
Vessel Name: Not For Sail
Vessel Model: Chris Craft Catalina 281
Garmin 521s - video output possibilities

I have the Garmin 521s chartplotter with a transducer hooked up, which came with the boat when I bought it. And, while I am happy with the unit's functions/capabilities, I am not happy with the 5" display size. Split-screens are pointless as you can't really see much detail, and when in chartplotting view, I have to scroll, zoom, and move the screen around more than I would like to when underway.

I would like to stick with Garmin, and I have been considering up-sizing to either the 720s or even splurging a bit and getting a GPSMAP 4210, and using the 521s as just a separate depthsounder display. However, I am wondering if I could use the NMEA 2000 connection point on the 521s to somehow hookup an external display (or even use my laptop). I am a NMEA network newbie, so I am a bit ignorant as to its capabilities. I have only begun to read about NMEA 2000 networks.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? I pilot my boat through about 2.5 miles of long, narrow, and shallow spots from my dock to open water, and I am keen on knowing and (clearly) seeing my vessel's relationship to the underwater environment.
BriBri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:30 AM   #2
Guru

City: Seabrook Texas
Vessel Name: TheVenture
Vessel Model: 1985 Bestway Labelle Sundeck 40ft
NMEA 0183 and 2000 let devices put sentences out there for other devices to read. Each device then can take those sentences and make something of them. Depth, speed, location, temperature, stuff like that....Video size is not very related to NMEA 2000
obthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 12:29 PM   #3
Guru

City: PNW
Vessel Model: 1976 Californian Tricabin LRC
Probably a good time to step up to a newer plotter system.