Old 07-17-2018, 03:44 AM   #1
Wil

City: Pacific NW
Vessel Name: Gone Walkabout
Vessel Model: KK39
Firefly L16 Bank Configuration

My house bank (six T-105+) died, so looking at six Firefly L15/L16 2v-900Ah/4v-450Ah batteries to replace it. Change the regulator and inverter/charger from FLA to AGM, good to go. They'll fit in the battery box nicely (height is Ok), and upgrade charge/discharge/PSOC/AmpHr performance. Spendy though.

These batteries are interesting in that each one can be changed to 2v/900Ah (parallel) or 4v/450Ah (series) configuration. This would allow change to a 24v system with only strap changes, something to do down the road. Attached is a top view of one in 4v series configuration (though missing one strap).

I'm still learning wrt configuring a battery bank, came up with two ways to do these (see pdf). Example 1 would be a 6S2P configuration, Example 2 would be a 2P6S configuration.

Questions:
1) Did I get the terminology right for those configurations?
2) Are those two configurations electrically correct?
3) Is one configuration better than the other for best charge/discharge distribution?
4) I believe both configurations result in a 12v/900Ah bank?
5) Is there another configuration that would be better?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	L16 terminal view.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	112.7 KB
ID:	78777  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 12v Firefly L16 Connection Possibilities.pdf (241.5 KB, 33 views)

Wil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 04:35 AM   #2
Guru

City: Gloucester, MA
Example 2 is correct, and is 2P6S, or in long hand 2 parallel batteries, then 6 of those in series.

Example 1 is shorted out all over the place. See marked up attachment.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 12v Firefly L16 Connection Possibilities-1.pdf (257.0 KB, 29 views)

Old 07-17-2018, 07:55 AM   #3
Guru

City: Melbourne, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by twistedtree View Post