Old 09-20-2012, 04:33 PM   #1
Guru

City: Whittier AK
Vessel Name: Apache II
Vessel Model: 1974 Donald Jones
Epirb

How many of you have an EPIRB?
If you have one where do you keep it?

I was on a friends boat and his is mounted with a release function.
The thought came to me that it sure would make it easy for the USCG to find the EPIRB.

I would think I would rather have mine with me or mounted on the dink as that is my life raft if the boat sinks.

I think I would rather have a PLB instead of a boat mounted EPIRB.

whadduthink?

SD
Old 09-20-2012, 05:15 PM   #2
Guru

City: Pensacola
I work as a contractor for the Coast Guard on C-130H acft. I recommend an EPIRB on a 406 Mhz Freq. That is the first freq the Coast Guard will search for and it is international. You can augment the PLB but you have to make sure they will see the signal.

http://www.navcen.uscg.gov/?pageName=mtEpirb
Blue Heron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:17 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

City: San Jose, CA
Vessel Name: Pineapple Girl 3
Vessel Model: Silverton 38c
we have a PLB. key word there being A (only ONE). I bought it for Matt when he did the coastal cup this year, which was shortly after five local sailors died in an offshore race. We keep it near the lower helm but if we were in any kind of adverse conditions ONE of us would need to be wearing it. Prob whichever of us might be going outside. If you have a ditch bag that is a good place for it.
San Francisco Bay Area
Pineapple Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:22 PM   #4
Guru

City: Hotel, CA
PLB in the ditch bag.

If I where a big water/remote location boater I'd have the boat mounted EPIRB and a PLB on every life jacket. But some of my friends think I'm a worry wart about that kinda stuff.

It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they've been fooled - Mark Twain
CPseudonym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:22 PM   #5
Guru