Old 03-16-2016, 11:33 AM   #1

City: SoCal
Vessel Name: Ansedonia
Vessel Model: Californian/Carver 52CPMY
Electric Stove Snafu

Hi folks, I just returned from two weeks aboard Harmony down in La Paz, MX. I spent a week on the dock doing projects and installing the new name, with un-naming and renaming ceremonies, and lots of spirits.

This was to be my second trip out with my new-to-me boat, and so I am still learning the systems. The electric stove, which I am not crazy about to begin with, worked fine at the dock, but refused to work once we left the marina. As you can imagine, this complicated cooking quite a bit for 5 nights out. I managed to make rice, eggs, and everything else using a propane BBQ!

I tried to troubleshoot the problem, pulling out the stove, making new electrical connections, tracing wiring, etc., with no luck. When I returned to the marina I emailed the former owner about the stove to ask for suggestions. He said to check the stove lid switch, which won't allow the stove to operate when the cover is down. I jiggled the switch, which is actually fairly well hidden, and bingo, everything worked!

Just passing this along as it might save somebody some aggravation one of these days. BTW, the trip was a blast, we saw lots of whales and rays and dolphins, and caught fish.

Cheers, Bill

Old 03-17-2016, 05:06 PM   #2
Veteran Member

City: Rockport, Ontario
Vessel Model: 1986 Oceania 35 Sundeck
Thanks Bill! We have been trying to figure out why the oven of our Princess electric stopped working. Maybe I'll check it out. There's a great bunch of people on this site! Mike

Sent from my iPad using Trawler Forum

Oceania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 08:28 PM   #3
Veteran Member

City: Olney,Mt/Anacortes,Wa
Vessel Name: Millie B
Vessel Model: 34 CHB Tricabin
Bill had one of those on my last boat----your not the only one it fooled- Bruce
raindr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 08:55 PM   #4
Art
Guru

City: SF Bay Area