Old 01-29-2016, 06:52 AM   #1

City: Durban
Lightbulb Custom software

Hi to all!

As a software engineer I am ALWAYS busy writing software for personal use in my spare time.

What I am planning.....

I want to write a custom app that will allow me to set reminders, dates, times, and and and.....about all the systems, items and other things that I will need to service and when to service them, what to service, instructions, manual references with page numbers and and and...

The ultimate goal is to get the software to integrate directly with the electronics to record and log hours, temperatures, pressure and and and....Thus allowing the software to automatically set reminders of services that are up coming or outstanding and and and....

This will also integrate with the engine and fuel systems.

My question is.......

What will you want in a system like this?
What must it be able to do except for the above.

My problem is that sometimes I am too close to a project I am working on for myself, that I forget about other stuff that I might need.

I am not sure if software like that already exists out there and I have not looked for it either. I design all my own software to suite my personal preferences, work flow and and and....

Any and all suggestions will be helpful.

Thank you!
Padda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 08:40 AM   #2
Guru

City: North Charleston, SC
That would be great but many of us own boats that are old enough that they cannot output data.

The other problem is, your market would be so small that you would have to charge a very high price for your software.
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 10:57 AM   #3
Guru

City: Fort Lauderdale. Florida, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Padda View Post
Hi to all!

As a software engineer I am ALWAYS busy writing software for personal use in my spare time.

What I am planning.....