Old 07-25-2016, 09:02 PM   #1
Guru

City: Punta Gorda, fl
Vessel Name: Escapade
Vessel Model: Nordic Tug 37 2002
Is A Charles Industries Charger Great?

I have three battery banks that currently run off of a 14 year old 40 amp charger.
I am considering replacing the charger with a Charles Industries Series 2000 Fifty amp, 3 battery bank charger.
Are Charles Industries products on the higher end? Are they reliable?
I have no experience with this product.
Thanks for any feed back.

Pgitug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 09:08 PM   #2
Guru

City: Trenton
I bought a Charles charger in 1993. It still works.

alormaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 09:10 PM   #3
Guru

City: RI
I purchased one about 3 years ago after finding that the model was actually manufactured in the USA. I'd do it again.
Bruce
Old 07-25-2016, 09:18 PM   #4
Veteran Member

City: Seattle, WA
Vessel Model: Willard 47' Dover Trawler
I had one that died soon after it went out warranty. I think they are overpriced on a dollar per watt basis. Magnum inverters, in my opinion, provide the best and most cost effective chargers. (I have two, which can provide 100 amps each at 24 volts.) Or, if you want a charger only, I think Sterling is a better bet. (Stay away from Xantrex, if you want support and service).
SteveD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 09:38 PM   #5
Veteran Member

City: Portland, OR
Vessel Name: Zara / Journey
Vessel Model: 1971 Grand Banks 36CL / 1980 Roughwater 41
I went with a Blue Sea 40 amp 3 batt charger when I changed mine out. So far....so good.
OreWa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 09:52 PM   #6
Guru

City: Miami Florida
Vessel Name: Possum
Vessel Model: Ellis 28
Charles has a good reputation. I'm partial to Newmar because I've been selling them for about twenty years with only two or three problems in that time. Their customer service is the best.
Old 07-25-2016, 11:02 PM   #7
Guru

City: North Carolina for now