Is A Charles Industries Charger Great?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pgitug

Guru
Vessel Name
Escapade
Vessel Make
Nordic Tug 37 2002
I have three battery banks that currently run off of a 14 year old 40 amp charger.
I am considering replacing the charger with a Charles Industries Series 2000 Fifty amp, 3 battery bank charger.
Are Charles Industries products on the higher end? Are they reliable?
I have no experience with this product.
Thanks for any feed back.

I purchased one about 3 years ago after finding that the model was actually manufactured in the USA. I'd do it again.
Bruce

I had one that died soon after it went out warranty. I think they are overpriced on a dollar per watt basis. Magnum inverters, in my opinion, provide the best and most cost effective chargers. (I have two, which can provide 100 amps each at 24 volts.) Or, if you want a charger only, I think Sterling is a better bet. (Stay away from Xantrex, if you want support and service).

I went with a Blue Sea 40 amp 3 batt charger when I changed mine out. So far....so good.

Charles has a good reputation. I'm partial to Newmar because I've been selling them for about twenty years with only two or three problems in that time. Their customer service is the best.

Great luck with products and service from Charles; American owned, made and US personal customer service. I'd have to say the same for NewMar as well. And in both cases both their marine products as well as their offerings to the telecom industry. Yes, they are on the higher end end price-wise and IMO well worth it.
To another poster's point, I had a Magnum inverter which is a great product but they 1)don't offer dedicatedchargers and 2) it was no better a charger than a Charles or NewMar