Charging system

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rochepoint

Guru
Vessel Name
Roche Point
Vessel Make
1985 Cheer Men PT38 Sedan
I am thinking it is time to upgrade the factory charging system on our single 6.3544M Perkins. I was wondering what others have done or would recommend doing since this is an area that I have limited knowledge. Batteries are one D8 for starting and four golf cart batteries for house use, all are wet cells.

Many folks will replace the 8D with a pair of group 31's , to save the back braking work of the 8D.

And remember 8D is a SIZE as are all the batt designations.Not a type , like deep cycle or starting .

IF you get enough amps from the setup , why change?

If you nrrd a bit more and have hight above the batts , the deep cycle gold carts can be replaced with taller "L16" sttyle batts.

Look on the Trojan site for dimensions.

Second question is how long they take to recharge , noisemaker , power hose or boats alt will all have different recharge times.

AS an anchor cruiser my favorite is a noisemaker with a 135A truck alt belted on and a 3 stage V regulator.

For BIG banks the 300A 24V bus alts are very fast and long lived.

Mike,