Cellular modem and antenna recommendations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aenlic

Veteran Member
I'm just starting my boating life, and one thing I'm definitely bringing with me is my local network. Rather than going with one of the marine-specific cell services, I plan to use my Verizon access to connect my LAN to the net (WAN). Apart from the fact that I'm a software engineer by trade, I enjoy my wireless connectivity for recreation as well. :_)

It looks like a cellular modem (to provide an Ethernet connection for my router) plus a good antenna will work for me. I've seen some offerings from Sierra and Cradlepoint which look promising, and antennas galore offering 6-9 dB signal strength.

Can anyone describe a setup which is working for them, with specifics on your equipment?

Thanks-

Bob

Greetings,
Welcome aboard.

radio-antenna_00379614.jpg

Too much maybe?

I'm very happy with my Netgear Nighthawk M1

Gigabit LTE Mobile Media Streaming Travel Router | Nighthawk M1 - MR 1100 NETGEAR Mobile Router

It might be an Australia-only device, but you should be able to use one of the Netgear 4G LTE Modems offered in the USA. Call Verizon and see what compatible offering they have.

Depending on your anticipated locations you might need some kind of amp as well. You can use the cradle-type boosters AFAIK. They are the cheapest solution and can work well, but are not legal here. We can use a repeater, providing its certified. The Cel-Fi GO is working well for me also. Use their recommended antenna, and get as much vertical separation between the external antenna and the indoor unit.

https://www.cel-fi.com.au/cel_fi_go_repeater.html

Last edited:
Cellular reception

Hi Bob, of aenlic: