Battery conundrum

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MurrayM

Guru
Vessel Name
Badger
Vessel Make
30' Sundowner Tug
Hi there,

Me-thinks our 'new to us' boat has some battery weirdnesses going on...

On a previous surveyors report it states the boat had a starting battery and 4 house batteries. The PO passed away about 5 years ago, and the person taking care of the boat put new batteries in last year.

I'm new to all this, but what I believe we have now is a large starting battery and 2 smaller starting batteries for the house batteries. Can you confirm this for me?

Photo #1 is a NAPA No. 4D-9, 6 cell, with 1050 CCA and 1280 CA.

Photo #2 is one of the two (where there is space for 4) and is a NO. 24M-5, with 550 CCA, and 650 CA.

Did the person taking care of the boat after the PO passed away inadvertently put two small starting batteries in where there used to be 4 house batteries?

Last edited:
More weirdness...here's the photo's;

Attachments

• large starting battery.jpg
    large starting battery.jpg
    91.8 KB · Views: 104
  • Small starting battery.jpg
    Small starting battery.jpg
    147.9 KB · Views: 108
More weirdness...here's the photo's;

Whether it was cheaping out, ignorance, or inadvertent it looks like you will need a new house bank. Starting batteries ain't gonna cut it.

Hi there,

Me-thinks our 'new to us' boat has some battery weirdnesses going on...

On a previous surveyors report it states the boat had a starting battery and 4 house batteries. The PO passed away about 5 years ago, and the person taking care of the boat put new batteries in last year.

I'm new to all this, but what I believe we have now is a large starting battery and 2 smaller starting batteries for the house batteries. Can you confirm this for me?

Photo #1 is a NAPA No. 4D-9, 6 cell, with 1050 CCA and 1280 CA.