Old 12-13-2018, 12:42 AM   #1

City: long beach
Varnish in winter?

Hi folks, a newbie here...
Live in the northeast, cold! I have been told by an old salty dog of a captain that I can successfully strip my teak on the Grand Banks, do my sanding to prep the wood and then apply the varnish during the winter month (outdoor storage). Any thoughts on doing this kind of work during winter months?
If so, what have you found as the most durable products in this kind of situation?
I was told that I could cut the first few coats 70/30v, 50/50v, 25/75v..then straight varnish. Of course i would have to warm up the varnish in the microwave for a few seconds...Do you think someone is puling my leg?
Thanks for any comments.
dmooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 01:54 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Black Dog
Vessel Model: Formula 41PC
I work on my boat all winter also. I do the stripping and prep work throughout the winter and then do the final work after it starts to warm up in the spring. I was just talking to Interlux support about painting in colder temps and they said not under 50 degrees. I would be leary of doing it in the cold because I would not want to redo all the work.
Comodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 02:14 AM   #3
Guru

City: Vallejo, California
Vessel Name: Mahalo Moi
Vessel Model: 1986 Grand Banks 42 Classic
If you lived in Long Beach, Calfornia you could pick a warm day in Winter and get away with it. I wouldn’t varnish below 65*F. Besides the low temperature, you’ll encounter more water in colder air; one of the enemies of a successful varnish job.
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑβΕ
Giggitoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 05:14 AM   #4
Guru

City: Narragansett Bay
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 36 Classic #715