Old 02-05-2010, 08:29 PM   #1
Guru

City: Diberville Mississippi
Vessel Name: KnotDoneYet
Vessel Model: 1983 42' Present Sundeck
Diver installed Zincs

About 2 years ago we paid a diver in Kemah to replace our block zinc and install zincs on the prop shafts. While inspecting the hull when swimming around the boat last summer with a mask I noticed that the block was not corroded at all and also there were no zincs mounted to the shafts. No area on the shaft had ever been cleaned for a zinc.I have noticed fuel tank fittings, etc. on the boat have been changing color over the last year- making me think the bonding system was not working correctly. I have checked the connections where they entered the transom and continued on with no problem found.
During a haulout/ survey last month we got the old girl in the air and had to wait a couple of hours for the surveyor who was late. I studied everything I could under the waterline and then studied the zinc block also. What I found was corrosion between the SS flat washers and the block. Apparently it was not cleaned when the diver bolted it on. I cleaned and scraped the mounting areas and cleaned off the mounting hardware and tightened with a 3/4" wrench. I am not sure that having zincs replaced by a diver is the best way to go. Hopefully this will take care of the bonding issue.
Attached Thumbnails
dscf5988.jpg   dscf5990.jpg   dscf5993.jpg   dscf5991.jpg  
Forkliftt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 09:42 PM   #2
Guru

City: Cruising East Coast US
Vessel Name: Grace
Vessel Model: DeFever 48
RE: Diver installed Zincs

"A diver" It all depends on the diver doesn't it? Please try to keep the slights to a group slightly smaller then thousands of individuals. I don't even know how to respond civilly to a comment so ridiculous.
Daddyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 05:35 AM   #3
Guru