Old 10-17-2012, 05:09 PM   #1

City: Lusby, MD
Vessel Name: Pleasure Island
Vessel Model: Marine Trader DC 34'
Steering Pump

We sprung a leak in our hydralic steering pump, lower helm, on our 1988 Marine Trader DC. For the trip home we capped the lines and steered from the bridge helm. It is an Hynautic steering pump, 251/501 system. The system has a separate reservoir. According to the marina mechanic the pump is shot, but the replacement is longer which will extend the wheel another 3 inches out. I'll be taking a look at this before he installs it. Also, the new one has it's own reservoir.

I am new to the boat and to trawlers. Has anyone had to replace a similar pump? I know my pump isn't made any more, but does it make sense that there is not a like-sized replacement? Also, will there be any problems adding this pump with it's own reservoir to the existing system with the separate reservoir?

I've been reading the forum every since we decided to purchase a trawler and have really learned a lot, and been entertained, too. I appreciate any advice you all can give.

LarryBud49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
Is there room to mount the replacement pump on a 3" spacer?

Old 10-17-2012, 05:17 PM   #3
Guru

City: North Charleston, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryBud49 View Post
.............. I know my pump isn't made any more, but does it make sense that there is not a like-sized replacement? Also, will there be any problems adding this pump with it's own reservoir to the existing system with the separate reservoir?.
Why don't you contact the manufacturer of your pump and ask them both questions? Sometimes yard mechanics just deal with what they know and don't research as much as an owner might.

Also, it might be possible to repair or rebuild the pump or send it out to be repaired or rebuilt.
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 05:20 PM   #4