Old 12-12-2017, 01:36 PM   #1
SKS
Veteran Member

City: Elkton
Vessel Name: Change of Pace
Vessel Model: Mainship
Enlarging fiberglass hull cutout

Hi all!
I am looking to tap the collective wisdom and experience of the group.
What is the best tools and technique to slightly elongate an existing fiberglass hull cutout?
I need to make a 23" x 4" vent cutout more like 23 1/2" x 4". I have zero experience with cutting fiberglass and want to do a clean cut without cracking gel coat or making a wavy line. The trick to 90 degree corners are just one of my " head scratchers".
Thank you in advance.
Steve
SKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 01:51 PM   #2
Guru

City: Italy
Vessel Name: Didi Mau
Vessel Model: Currently looking for next boat
Use

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKS View Post
Hi all!
I am looking to tap the collective wisdom and experience of the group.
What is the best tools and technique to slightly elongate an existing fiberglass hull cutout?
I need to make a 23" x 4" vent cutout more like 23 1/2" x 4". I have zero experience with cutting fiberglass and want to do a clean cut without cracking gel coat or making a wavy line. The trick to 90 degree corners are just one of my " head scratchers".
Thank you in advance.
Steve
A vibrating multi tool. You can buy one at northern tool or Harbour freight. Including required blades about $30. Be sure to be generous with the blue tape.
Gordon J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 01:57 PM   #3
Guru

City: Mississippi
Vessel Name: ADAGIO
Vessel Model: CHB Present 42 Sundeck
What Gordon said
FoxtrotCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 02:05 PM   #4
FF
Guru

Any jig saw when fitted with an abrasive grit blade does a fine job of trimming fiberglass.

A layer of masking tape to show the cut line will help with brittle gell coat cracking .
FF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 02:46 PM   #5
Guru

City: Tavernier, FL
Vessel Name: Volans
Vessel Model: 2001 PDQ MV 32