Cummins won't start

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Waterford

Vessel Name
Waterford
Vessel Make
Nordic Tug 37
I have a Cummins 5.9 in my Nordic Tug 32. My wife cranked it without turning the key and now it will not start at all. Seems fuel starved but cranks fine. Is there something on the injector pump that I need to reset? Filters are fine. Any suggestions are appreciated.

As with anytime when you're cranking for long periods, start by shutting down the raw water intake. Then check your manual, there should be specific locations in the fuel line to open to bleed. Usually one of the injector lines will do, crack it open and crank till fuel come out. If the engine starts, open the raw water first, then tighten the fuel line.

That's what I would do, but i'm not a mechanic, proceed at your own risk or call a mechanic

As with anytime when you're cranking for long periods, start by shutting down the raw water intake. Then check your manual, there should be specific locations in the fuel line to open to bleed. Usually one of the injector lines will do, crack it open and crank till fuel come out. If the engine starts, open the raw water first, then tighten the fuel line.

That's what I would do, but i'm not a mechanic, proceed at your own risk or call a mechanic

if you have a lift muffler it might be full from cranking,that will stop it from starting because of back pressure, had that problem way back when,had to drain the muffler?