Bottom paint and bonding questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gilhooley

Veteran Member
Hello,

I'm in my second year of ownership but really just my first one not farming 100% of the work out. Attempting to think for myself and understand what "the right way" is vs "the way everyone tells you to do it" and ensuring I'm on the right part of that fork. I've been working all these points myself for some time and have come to obstacles to moving forward for most of these. Certainly there is information "out there" on all of this but the vast majority is lacking any connection to specific cause/effect motivation. Hopefully it's not a mortal sin to collect a number of questions under a single post.

So... in no particular order. Breaking the following sections up so I can spread them over the appropriate sub-forums.

BOTTOM PAINT

1. I've got Micron CSC on my hull and except for 2 square inches, it's in good condition. I spoke with a gentleman at Interlux support who said I didn't need to sand it per se but merely to "rough it up". Is a palm sander overkill? I'm in that "used up" part of my life and machinery does make life better. If not a sander (I'm rich in 80 grit pads btw), then what might you suggest?

2. Order of operations - zincs and paint. I see advantages to doing it both ways but will probably put the zincs on first and delicately cut in around them as I paint... is this anti-stupid?

3. Paint interaction with bonding system - a paint with copper in it sounds as though it has the potential to interact with the bonding system. Any considerations here?