Old 09-18-2013, 12:33 PM   #1

Boat Keeper

Hey guys got a question. I currently work as a boat detailer at a marina on the Illinois River. On the side i detail cars, trucks, s.u.v's for extra money. My question is do people usually hire or would they hire, somebody to keep up their boat " washing, waxing" that sort of thing. So when they go to use it again it would be clean. Im going to be buying a bowrider in march and could bring my cleaning supplies and go marina to marina. Use the marinas hose hookups and do them right there.
justinclay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:42 PM   #2
Guru

City: Seattle, WA
Vessel Name: Pau Hana
Vessel Model: 1989 PT52 Overseas Yachtfisher
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinclay View Post
Hey guys got a question. I currently work as a boat detailer at a marina on the Illinois River. On the side i detail cars, trucks, s.u.v's for extra money. My question is do people usually hire or would they hire, somebody to keep up their boat " washing, waxing" that sort of thing. So when they go to use it again it would be clean. Im going to be buying a bowrider in march and could bring my cleaning supplies and go marina to marina. Use the marinas hose hookups and do them right there.
Yup, its a regular service that is in demand. You will want to make sure that you have proper insurance for your marine related business, as many docks won't allow you to work on their premises without liability coverage, if not also Ship Repairers Legal Liability (SRLL) coverage.

Just as important, your will want coverage should you cause damage to a client's boat (burn thru paint or gelcoat, etc).

1989 52' PT Overseas yachtfisher
Pau Hana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:45 PM   #3

Im currently licensed and insured for my auto work, but will definitely look into anything legally marine wise id need. Good to know its in demand. Havent burned through gel yet, seems to be a lot harder to do then clear lol.