Anchor Locker

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gordon B

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Moonstruck
Vessel Make
41' Defever
Hi to all,
I'm on the hard now but should splash in march. Anyway, we dropped the anchor for paint and inspection and sense I'm new at this I was wondering how or do you keep the anchor locker dry when bringing up the anchor. Or just keeping it dry in general.

Thanks

The anchor locker can't be kept dry when you bring up a wet rode. Every anchor locker that I have had has a drain. This allows excess water to drain out, and more importantly, allows the water you rinsed your rode down with to drain out. My feeling is a chain that is sitting in mud and debris will be my ch less prone to corrosion.

With a rope rode is chosen many folks will simply figure 8 the line on deck.

Dries nicely and is ready to deploy with no snarl hassles.

After the trip, rinse it dockside , let it dry , and feed it below.

We had a stinking anchor locker w our last boat.
Have'nt used the Willard locker ever.
Stow in a box on the foredeck.

I don't get it. My anchor lockers have never had an odor. Even my sailboat without a wash down pump never had an issue. We would just rinse out the anchor locker when back at the dock. Maybe I have just been lucky with the designs that I have had.

I think that a washdown pump and washing the upcoming rode and anchor would be a very good thing. We had a flush Maxwell winch on the sailboat and it would direct the hosed-but-wet rode into the chain locker. No smell, no overboard drain; it drained into the bilge. Our Revel has an antediluvian electric winch of the sort you have to tail so the rode ends up all around ones feet. Can't wait 'till I install the washdown and at least save myself using the bucket. There's no way the rudely piled rode can go astray on the well-bulwarked foredeck so I let it dry there.