Old 02-28-2017, 02:40 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Titusville,Fl
Vessel Name: Moonstruck
Vessel Model: 41' Defever
Anchor Locker

Hi to all,
I'm on the hard now but should splash in march. Anyway, we dropped the anchor for paint and inspection and sense I'm new at this I was wondering how or do you keep the anchor locker dry when bringing up the anchor. Or just keeping it dry in general.

Thanks
Gordon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 03:48 PM   #2
Guru

City: Gig Harbor
Vessel Name: Kinship
Vessel Model: North Pacific 43
The anchor locker can't be kept dry when you bring up a wet rode. Every anchor locker that I have had has a drain. This allows excess water to drain out, and more importantly, allows the water you rinsed your rode down with to drain out. My feeling is a chain that is sitting in mud and debris will be my ch less prone to corrosion.

Dave
SPOT page
dhays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 06:13 PM   #3
FF
Guru

With a rope rode is chosen many folks will simply figure 8 the line on deck.

Dries nicely and is ready to deploy with no snarl hassles.

After the trip, rinse it dockside , let it dry , and feed it below.
FF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 07:59 PM   #4
Guru

City: Concrete Washington State
Vessel Name: Willy
Vessel Model: Willard Nomad 30'
We had a stinking anchor locker w our last boat.
Have'nt used the Willard locker ever.
Stow in a box on the foredeck.

North Western Washington State USA
Nomad Willy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 08:25 PM   #5
Guru

City: Gig Harbor
Vessel Name: Kinship
Vessel Model: North Pacific 43
I don't get it. My anchor lockers have never had an odor. Even my sailboat without a wash down pump never had an issue. We would just rinse out the anchor locker when back at the dock. Maybe I have just been lucky with the designs that I have had.

Dave
SPOT page
dhays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 08:41 PM   #6
Guru

City: Philadelphia, PA