Old 10-11-2016, 12:17 AM   #1
Guru

City: Gooding ID/Wrangell AK
Vessel Name: Silver Bay
Vessel Model: Nordic Tug 42-002
Aluminum Anodes

Does anyone have experience with aluminum anodes versus zinc anodes in saltwater? All I have read says they are at least equal or better. West Marine will no longer be carrying zinc anodes so aluminum looks like the future.

Tom
tpbrady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 12:24 AM   #2
Guru

City: Vallejo, California
Vessel Name: Mahalo Moi
Vessel Model: 1986 Grand Banks 42 Classic
Tom,

I'm not an expert. We have a member that cleans boat bottoms and changes anodes for a living. Perhaps he'll chime in here.

I believe that aluminum is for fresh water and zinc is more suited for salt water (???).

Edit: look what Craig (AKA Some Clueless Idiot (don't believe everything you read)) attached to another thread!
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1378.JPG  
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑβΕ
Giggitoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 01:52 AM   #3
Veteran Member

City: Hobsonville, Auckland
Vessel Name: Nordic Blue
Vessel Model: Nimbus 380 Commander
Have been researching this subject for my own boat.
I'm informed that either aluminium or zinc is fine in fine in salt water but all anodes must be the same (all aluminium or all zinc). G
Grae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 05:58 AM   #4
Guru

City: Ft Pierce
Vessel Name: Sold
Vessel Model: Was an Albin/PSN 40
From the experts chiming in before.....

Aluminum is fine in salt water, it may just need to bring replaced more often.

Yes, all the anodes should be the same, except that you can use zinc externally and pencil aluminum zincs in machinery if isolated from the block and bonding system (or maybe that is given enough that the water in a heat exchanger is just considered a different body of water as I have heard it described).
psneeld is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 06:28 AM   #5
TF Site Team

City: Jacksonville