Trim tabs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AlaskaProf

Guru
Vessel Name
boatless, ex: Seeadler
Vessel Make
RAWSON 41
So, I'm a reformed sailor with a 41' semi-displacement trawler. The boat has trim tabs, which, I must confess I've never moved. They seem to be in the "stream" position, ie aligned with the bottom of the boat. I have 55 years of aeronautical experience with "trim", but I've no clue about these devices. What circumstance would call for me to move them?

At slow speed, no or trivial effect.

If you are approaching planing speed, with tabs down the transition speed is lowered.

So tabs down, boat might be planing (sort of with SD) at 14kts.

With tabs up, planing might be a few knots higher, like 17kts.

If in those transition speeds, down tab can mean bow down, which is usually a good thing.

Play with them to see the effects.

I have them on my non planing boat and they have uses.
Trim side to side can be affected by using.
Fore/aft trim can be affected.
Reduces large rolling stern wave when pushing the boat speed.
Your specific boat May not benefit but try them, play with them.

In following seas I back them fully off or they can help the bow to dig in--not good.

As others have said: Play with them at different speeds and in different wave conditions and when out of sync port to starboard weights may be aboard boat.

TT's are interesting "levelers" or general attitude "adjusters" to have fun with and to make cruising just a bit easier.